WilsonBlock1000 Radio

Stream "Case Is Closed" album by Del Jones

Buy Album

Underground Philadelphia’s response to Amiri Baraka’s and Gil Scott-Heron’s indictments of the Black American experience: poet, proto-rapper and catalyst Del Jones’ call to action not just for his city, but for the nation.
  1. Court Is Closed (Court Is Closed version) 08:48
  2. Inside Black America (Court Is Closed version) 04:23
  3. Times Are Hard, Friends Are Few (Court Is Closed version) 05:12
  4. Prelude To Hell (Court Is Closed version) 01:49
  5. Needle N' Spoon (Court Is Closed version) 02:04
  6. Vibe-ing Theme (Positive Vibes version) 04:40
  7. Prelude Ta Hell (Positive Vibes version) 02:09
  8. Needle N' Spoon (Positive Vibes version) 02:04
  9. Cold Turkey (Positive Vibes version) 09:44
  10. Soul Of Black Folks (Positive Vibes version) 03:11
  11. Court Is Closed (Positive Vibes version) 09:12
  12. Inside Black America (Positive Vibes version) 04:24
  13. Times Are Hard, Friends Are Few (Positive Vibes version) 05:15
  14. Mellow Vibes 03:59
  15. The Last Letter 03:58
  16. Afro-Funky-Isms 03:17
  17. Big Feet (Philly Reggae) 02:36
  18. Synthetic Me (Part I & II) 03:55
  19. Brother Where Are You? 02:50
  20. Court Is Closed (Rehearsal) 07:22
  21. Attica (Rehearsal) 11:40
  22. Flute Jam (Rehearsal) 01:08
  23. Positive VIbes (Rehearsal) 04:29
Equal parts psychedelic rock and deep funk, the rarely heard 'Court Is Closed' saw only the scantest of issues before Jones overdubbed horns on the album, remixed and augmented it with additional music, and issued it as the better-known 'Positive Vibes'. Here we present both versions of the album, with Bandcamp customers also receiving bonus LP containing Jones’ rare 7” single tracks and rehearsals, including unreleased tracks heard here for the first time.

Jones’ story, and that of his family, is like his music: a loud, vital voice long silenced. Understanding it now is not just a visceral musical experience, but an essential dissection of racism and classism in America.

A detailed book - included here as a bonus PDF - delves into Jones’ music, milieu and life as an author, activist and orator, shining a light not only on his prescient awareness of hip-hop, but also on the struggles he confronted, and his urgent, current mandate.

This is the 23rd release in the deluxe Now-Again Reserve Edition, formerly a subscription service, and now offered as a la carte issues, with bonus material on vinyl available for Bandcamp purchasers.

released March 10, 2023

This anthology produced by Eothen Alapatt
Licensed by Wayman Jones
Liner notes by Jeremeigh A.M. Kergylle (fka Jeremy Cargill), with contributions and editing by Eothen Alapatt
Restoration and remastering by Jason Bitner
Tape restoration and transfers by Dan Johnson for Audio Archiving
Vinyl transfers by Ben Lowrie
Art direction by Errol Richardson


Arts ♤ Politics ♤ Religion ♤ Society