23 more Prince albums now available to stream following Sony deal

By Chris Cooke
Following the recent deal between the Prince estate and Sony Music, which followed the disastrous deal between the Prince estate and Universal Music, 23 Prince albums have just gone online. Some are available via legitimate digital channels for the first time.

The Prince estate, of course, originally did three deals with Universal Music covering the late musician's recordings, songs and merchandise. But the recordings deal fell apart because of confusion over what albums and singles the arrangement actually covered, Prince having entered into a new deal with his original label Warner Music two years before his death.

With Universal's recordings deal abandoned, the estate announced a new partnership with Sony Music in June this year. This is the first project under that deal, with 23 catalogue titles going live on the digital platforms alongside a new 'Prince Anthology: 1995-2010' collection.

The newly available to stream records are as follows:
  1. The Gold Experience (1995)
  2. Chaos and Disorder (1996)
  3. Emancipation (1996)
  4. Crystal Ball (1998)
  5. The Truth (1998)
  6. Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic (1999)
  7. Rave In2 The Joy Fantastic (2001)
  8. The Rainbow Children (2001)
  9. One Nite Alone… (2002)
  10. One Nite Alone…Live! (2002)
  11. One Nite Alone… Live – The Aftershow (2002)
  12. Xpectation (2003)
  13. N.E.W.S. (2003)
  14. C-Note (2004)
  15. Musicology (2004)
  16. The Chocolate Invasion (Trax from the NPG Music Club: Volume 1) (2004)
  17. The Slaughterhouse (Trax from the NPG Music Club: Volume 2) (2004)
  18. 3121 (2006)
  19. Planet Earth (2007)
  20. Indigo Nights (2008)
  21. LOtUSFLOW3R (2009)
  22. MPLSoUND (2009)
  23. 20Ten (2010)
All the releases being put out by Sony's Legacy Recordings come from... (continue reading...)

Post a Comment